Local 189 Leadership

Our leadership is elected by vote of the general membership every two years. There are seven executive officers and ten chapter chairs. We may have up to three trustees with overlapping terms. AFSCME officers take an oath of service, and have a fiduciary duty to our members. This means we may only act in ways that protect our members' collective interests. Check out some of our executive board's values as discussed at our 2019 E-Board Retreat, presented as a word cloud below.

2019 E Board Retreat Values Word Cloud

Our union family is also supported by a paid staffer from Council 75, known as our council representative. Our council rep assists member leaders in the running of our union, including with bargaining and grievances.

Not sure where to start? You can always contact the AFSCME Smart Center to connect with a steward near you, to have quick answers to basic questions, or to otherwise get directed to the right person.

SMART Center Logo - Steward / Member / Assistance / Respresentation / Training

[email protected]

Executive Officers

Image of President Rob Martineau
Vice President
Communications Editor
Communications Editor
Chief Steward
Trustee (Effective 2/2023)

Chapter Chairs

Chapter Chair: PBOT - PE
Chapter: Water
Michael Bornhorst headshot
Chapter Chair: BDS
Chapter Chair: Water
Chapter Chair: PPB
Chapter Chair: OMF
Chapter Chair: BDS
Chapter Chair: PBOT
Kelly Hess (Chapter Chair: PPB)


Council Representative